نظرة عامة

اختبار A1C هو اختبار دم شائع يُستخدَّم لتشخيص النوع 1 و2 من داء السكري ولمراقبة كيفية تحكمك في داء السكري لديك. يحمل اختبار A1C العديد من الأسماء الأخرى بما فيها الهيموغلوبين الغليكوزيلاتي، والهيموغلوبين السكري، والهيموغلوبين A1c، وHbA1c.

تعكس نتيجة اختبار A1C متوسط مستوى سكر الدم لآخر شهرين إلى ثلاثة أشهر. على وجه التحديد، يقيس اختبار A1C نسبة الهيموغلوبين — وهو بروتين في كريات الدم الحمراء يحمل الأكسجين — المغطى بالسكر (الغليكوزيلاتي). كلما كان مستوى A1C أعلى لديك، كان مستوى التحكم في سكر الدم لديك أضعف وكانت مخاطر حدوث مضاعفات داء السكري لديك أعلى.

لماذا يتم إجراء ذلك

يقيس اختبار A1C متوسط مستوى السكر في الدم خلال مدة الشهرين إلى الأشهر الثلاثة الماضية. يمكن أن تساعد نتائج اختبار A1C طبيبك في:

  • تحديد مقدمات السكري. في حال كانت لديك مقدمات السكري، فقد تكون أكثر عرضة لخطر الإصابة بداء السكري وأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية.
  • تشخيص داء السكري من النوعين الأول والثاني. لتأكيد تشخيص داء السكري، من المرجح أن يطلع طبيبك على نتائج اختبارين للدم تم إجراؤهما في أيام مختلفة — إما اختباري A1C أو اختبار A1C بالإضافة إلى اختبار دم آخر لتشخيص داء السكري.
  • مراقبة خطة علاج داء السكري. تساعد نتائج اختبار (اختبارات) A1C المبدئي أيضًا في تحديد مستوى A1C الأساسي. يتم تكرار اختبار A1C بعد ذلك على فترات منتظمة لمراقبة خطة علاج داء السكري لديك.

    فهو يقيس متوسط مستوى السكر في الدم خلال الشهرين أو الثلاثة الماضية، ويمكن أن يظهر مدى نجاح خطة علاج داء السكري لديك لخفض نسبة السكر في الدم بمرور الوقت.

يتوقف عدد المرات التي تحتاج فيها إلى إجراء اختبار A1C على نوع داء السكري لديك، وعلى خطة العلاج، وعلى مدى نجاحك في السيطرة على سكر الدم. فعلى سبيل المثال، قد يُوصى بإجراء اختبار A1C:

  • مرة واحدة كل عام في حال كانت لديك مقدمات السكري
  • مرتين سنويًا في حال كنت مصابًا بداء السكري من النوع الثاني، وكنت لا تستخدم الأنسولين وكان مستوى سكر الدم باستمرار داخل النطاق المستهدف.
  • أربع مرات سنويًا في حال كنت مصابًا بداء السكري من النوع الأول
  • أربع مرات سنويًا إذا كنت مصابًا بداء السكري من النوع الثاني، أو تستخدم الأنسولين للسيطرة على داء السكري، أو لديك مشكلة في الحفاظ على مستوى سكر الدم داخل النطاق المستهدف

قد تحتاج إلى تكرار اختبارات A1C كثيرًا إذا غيّر الطبيب خطة علاج داء السكري أو كنت قد بدأت في تناول أدوية جديدة لعلاج داء السكري.

كيف تستعد

يعد فحص A1C فحصًا بسيطًا للدم. لا تحتاج إلى الصيام لإجراء فحص A1C، لذلك يمكنك تناول الطعام والمشروبات بشكل طبيعي قبل إجراء الفحص.

ما يمكنك توقعه

خلال اختبار A1C، يأخذ أحد أعضاء فريق الرعاية الصحية عينة من الدم عن طريق إدخال إبرة في الوريد الموجود في الذراع أو وخز طرف الإصبع بمشرط صغير حاد. إذا أُخِذت منك عينة دم من الوريد، فستُرسل إلى مختبر لتحليلها. عادة ما يتم تحليل الدم المأخوذ من وخزة الإصبع في عيادة طبيبك للحصول على نتائج في نفس اليوم. ويمكنك العودة إلى أنشطتك المعتادة على الفور.

النتائج

ترِد تقارير نتائج اختبار A1C بالنسبة المئوية. تتوافق النسبة المئوية الأعلى لمستوى A1C مع ارتفاع متوسط مستويات السكر في الدم. كلما ارتفع مستوى A1C، ازداد خطر الإصابة بداء السكري أو الإصابة بمضاعفات السكري.

بالنسبة للشخص غير المصاب بداء السكري، فإن مستوى A1C الطبيعي أقل من 5.7 بالمائة. إذا كان مستوى A1C بين 5.7 و6.4 بالمائة، فأنت مصاب بمقدمات السكري (وتُسمّى أيضًا اختلال الغلوكوز الصومي)، وهو ما يعني ازدياد خطر إصابتك بداء السكري في المستقبل.

حيث إن تسجيل مستوى A1C لنسبة 6.5 بالمائة أو أعلى في موقفين منفصلين يشير إلى أنك مصاب بداء السكري. حينما يرتفع مستوى A1C عن 8 بالمائة فيعني ذلك أن داء السكري لديك غير خاضع للسيطرة بشكل جيد وأنه يزداد لديك خطر الإصابة بمضاعفات داء السكري.

بالنسبة لمعظم البالغين المصابين بداء السكري، فإن الهدف الشائع للعلاج يكون تسجيل نتيجة 7 في المائة أو أقل لمستوى A1C. قد تكون الأهداف الأقل أو الأعلى ملائمة لبعض الأفراد. إذا كان مستوى A1C فوق المستهدف، فقد يوصي الطبيب بتغيير خطة علاج داء السكري.

بعض الأشخاص المصابين بداء السكري يراقبون مستويات السكر بالدم منزليًا بمساعدة الأجهزة. تخبرك أجهزتك على الأرجح بمستويات السكر بالدم بالملليغرام لكل ديسيلتر (ملغم/دل) أو بالمليمول لكل لتر (مليمول/لتر). ترِد نتائج مستويات A1C بالنسبة المئوية، لكنها تتوافق مع ما يقدّر بمتوسط مستويات سكر الدم (الغلوكوز). لمساعدتك على ربط مستويات A1C الخاصة بك بمراقبة منزلية، إليك كيفية توافق A1C مع متوسط مستوى سكر الدم المُقدر:

مستوى A1C متوسط مستوى سكر الدم المُقدر (الغلوكوز)
6 في المائة 126 ملغم/دل (7 مليمول/لتر)
7 في المائة 154 ملغم/دل (8.6 مليمول/لتر)
8 في المائة 183 ملغم/دل (10.2 مليمول/لتر)
9 في المائة 212 ملغم/دل (11.8 مليمول/لتر)
10 في المائة 240 ملغم/دل (13.4 مليمول/لتر)
11 في المائة 269 ملغم/دل (14.9 مليمول/لتر)
12 في المائة 298 ملغم/دل (16.5 مليمول/لتر)

من المهم ملاحظة أن فعالية اختبارات A1C قد تكون محدودة في بعض الحالات. على سبيل المثال:

  • إذا واجهت نزيفًا حادًا أو مزمنًا، فقد تُستنفد مخازن الهيموغلوبين لديك. كما يمكن أن يجعل هذا نتائج اختبار A1C منخفضة وزائفة.
  • إذا كنت مصابًا بفقر الدم الناتج عن نقص الحديد، فقد تكون نتائج اختبار A1C مرتفعة بشكل زائف.
  • يكون لدى معظم الناس نوع واحد فقط من الهيموغلوبين، يُسمى هيموغلوبين أ. وإذا كان لديك شكل غير شائع من الهيموغلوبين (معروف باسم بديل الهيموغلوبين)، فإن نتيجة اختبار A1C قد تكون مرتفعة أو منخفضة بشكل زائف. توجد غالبًا بدائل الهيموغلوبين في السود وفي الأشخاص الذين تنحدر أصولهم إلى منطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط أو جنوب شرق آسيا. ويمكن تأكيد بدائل الهيموغلوبين من خلال الفحوصات المختبرية. إذا تم تشخيص حالتك بأحد بدائل الهيموغلوبين، فقد تكون هناك حاجة لإجراء اختبارات A1C في معمل متخصص للحصول على أدق النتائج.
  • إذا كنت مصابًا بشكل آخر من فقر الدم الانحلالي، أو إذا خضعت لنقل دم مؤخرًا، فقد لا تستفيد من إجراء هذا الاختبار، حيث قد تكون النتائج منخفضة بشكل زائف.

وضع في اعتبارك أيضًا أنه قد يختلف النطاق الطبيعي لنتائج A1C إلى حد ما من مختبر لآخر. إذا استشرت طبيبًا جديدًا أو تعاملت مع مختبر جديد، فمن المهم أن تضع في اعتبارك هذا الاختلاف المحتمل عند تفسير نتائج اختبار A1C الهيموغلوبين السكري.

02/07/2019
  1. American Diabetes Association. Standards of Medical Care in Diabetes 2018. Diabetes Care. 2018;41(suppl):S1.
  2. Davies MJ, et al. Management of hyperglycemia in type 2 diabetes, 2018. A consensus report by the American Diabetes Association (ADA) and the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD). Diabetes Care. 2018;41(12):2669.
  3. Papadakis MA, et al., eds. Diabetes mellitus & hypoglycemia. In: Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2018. 57th ed. New York, N.Y.: McGraw-Hill Education; 2017. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Nov. 8, 2018.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Type 2 diabetes mellitus (adult). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  5. The A1C test & diabetes. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diabetes/overview/tests-diagnosis/a1c-test. Accessed Nov. 8, 2018.

فحص A1C

Overview

The A1C test is a common blood test used to diagnose type 1 and type 2 diabetes and to monitor how well you're managing your diabetes. The A1C test goes by many other names, including glycated hemoglobin, glycosylated hemoglobin, hemoglobin A1C and HbA1c.

The A1C test result reflects your average blood sugar level for the past two to three months. Specifically, the A1C test measures what percentage of your hemoglobin — a protein in red blood cells that carries oxygen — is coated with sugar (glycated). The higher your A1C level, the poorer your blood sugar control and the higher your risk of diabetes complications.

Why it's done

The A1C test measures your average blood sugar level for the past two to three months. The results of your A1C test can help your doctor:

  • Identify prediabetes. If you have prediabetes, you have a higher risk of developing diabetes and cardiovascular disease.
  • Diagnose type 1 and type 2 diabetes. To confirm a diabetes diagnosis, your doctor will likely look at the results of two blood tests administered on different days — either two A1C tests or the A1C test plus another diabetes blood test.
  • Monitor your diabetes treatment plan. The results of your initial A1C test(s) also help establish your baseline A1C level. The A1C test is then repeated on a regular basis to monitor your diabetes treatment plan.

    It measures your average blood sugar level for the past two to three months and can show how well your diabetes treatment plan is working to lower your blood sugar over time.

How often you need the A1C test depends on the type of diabetes you have, your treatment plan and how well you're managing your blood sugar. For example, the A1C test may be recommended:

  • Once every year if you have prediabetes
  • Twice a year if you have type 2 diabetes, you don't use insulin and your blood sugar level is consistently within your target range
  • Four times a year if you have type 1 diabetes
  • Four times a year if you have type 2 diabetes, you use insulin to manage your diabetes or you have trouble keeping your blood sugar level within your target range

You may need more frequent A1C tests if your doctor changes your diabetes treatment plan or you begin taking a new diabetes medication.

How you prepare

The A1C test is a simple blood test. You don't need to fast for the A1C test, so you can eat and drink normally before the test.

What you can expect

During the A1C test, a member of your health care team takes a sample of blood by inserting a needle into a vein in your arm or pricking the tip of your finger with a small, pointed lancet. If the blood is taken from a vein, the blood sample is sent to a lab for analysis. Blood from a finger prick is usually analyzed in your doctor's office for same-day results. You can return to your usual activities immediately.

Results

A1C test results are reported as a percentage. A higher A1C percentage corresponds to higher average blood sugar levels. The higher your A1C level, the higher your risk of developing diabetes or complications of diabetes.

For someone who doesn't have diabetes, a normal A1C level is below 5.7 percent. If your A1C level is between 5.7 and 6.4 percent, you have prediabetes (also called impaired fasting glucose), which means you have a high risk of developing diabetes in the future.

An A1C level of 6.5 percent or higher on two separate occasions shows that you have diabetes. An A1C level above 8 percent means that your diabetes is not well-controlled and you have a higher risk of developing complications of diabetes.

For most adults who have diabetes, an A1C level of 7 percent or less is a common treatment target. Lower or higher targets may be appropriate for some individuals. If your A1C level is above your target, your doctor may recommend a change in your diabetes treatment plan.

Some people who have diabetes monitor their blood sugar levels at home with devices. Your devices likely report your blood sugar levels in milligrams per deciliter (mg/dL) or millimoles per liter (mmol/L). A1C levels are reported as a percentage, but they correspond with estimated average blood sugar (glucose) levels. To help you tie your A1C levels back to your home monitoring, here's how A1C corresponds to the estimated average blood sugar level:

A1C level Estimated average blood sugar (glucose) level
6 percent 126 mg/dL (7 mmol/L)
7 percent 154 mg/dL (8.6 mmol/L)
8 percent 183 mg/dL (10.2 mmol/L)
9 percent 212 mg/dL (11.8 mmol/L)
10 percent 240 mg/dL (13.4 mmol/L)
11 percent 269 mg/dL (14.9 mmol/L)
12 percent 298 mg/dL (16.5 mmol/L)

It's important to note that the effectiveness of A1C tests may be limited in certain cases. For example:

  • If you experience heavy or chronic bleeding, your hemoglobin stores may be depleted. This may make your A1C test results falsely low.
  • If you have iron deficiency anemia, your A1C test results may be falsely high.
  • Most people have only one type of hemoglobin, called hemoglobin A. If you have an uncommon form of hemoglobin (known as a hemoglobin variant), your A1C test result may be falsely high or falsely low. Hemoglobin variants are most often found in blacks and people of Mediterranean or Southeast Asian heritage. Hemoglobin variants can be confirmed with lab tests. If you're diagnosed with a hemoglobin variant, your A1C tests may need to be done at a specialized lab for the most accurate results.
  • If you have another form of hemolytic anemia, or if you've had a recent blood transfusion, this test would not be useful, as results may be falsely low.

Also keep in mind that the normal range for A1C results may vary somewhat among labs. If you consult a new doctor or use a different lab, it's important to consider this possible variation when interpreting your A1C test results.

The Mayo Clinic experience and patient stories

Our patients tell us that the quality of their interactions, our attention to detail and the efficiency of their visits mean health care like they've never experienced. See the stories of satisfied Mayo Clinic patients.

  1. Lifestyle Changes Yield Positive Results for Wisconsin Woman With Diabetes

    When Debbie Hundley learned she had diabetes and realized what it was doing to her body, she was determined to make the adjustments needed to get the disease under control and keep it that way. For Debbie Hundley, the shift was gradual. Life got busy. She let things go, and before she knew it, her [...]

Dec. 18, 2018
  1. American Diabetes Association. Standards of Medical Care in Diabetes 2018. Diabetes Care. 2018;41(suppl):S1.
  2. Davies MJ, et al. Management of hyperglycemia in type 2 diabetes, 2018. A consensus report by the American Diabetes Association (ADA) and the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD). Diabetes Care. 2018;41(12):2669.
  3. Papadakis MA, et al., eds. Diabetes mellitus & hypoglycemia. In: Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2018. 57th ed. New York, N.Y.: McGraw-Hill Education; 2017. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Nov. 8, 2018.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Type 2 diabetes mellitus (adult). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  5. The A1C test & diabetes. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diabetes/overview/tests-diagnosis/a1c-test. Accessed Nov. 8, 2018.

A1C test